Sunday, April 25, 2010

Yellow cake w/chocolate ganache w/creamy chocolate frosting

The cake was really good in my opinion. It was moist too, well more moist then the German Chocolate cake I made. The ganache was really good, my husband did say that I should have put more in the middle. It looked like so much when I was putting it on that I didn't use the entire amount. I guess next time I will. The frosting turned out, inspite of me messing it up. It was really good. My husband said it was "very tasty" my kids both ate it without complaint. Well actually my little one ate all the chocolate first and then ate the cake.

I did realize two things today. One frosting takes a long time to make and two I understand why a cake can cost so much. The frosting took me aprox. two hours to make. My husband was wondering if I was ever going to be done. I would have to say I think it tasted as good if not better then the ready made frosting. I do however have a lot left over. I wonder if I can freeze it or how long I can keep it in my frig. I guess I will have to look it up and find out.

If you try it let me know how you liked it. As always I am curious to see how long it take you. From start to finish including bake time and cooling time it took me aprox. three in a half hours. I guess that's what it takes to make it fresh. It was very good in my opinion.

Preparing and baking yellow cake

So I decided to bake a yellow cake. I know doesen't sound to exciting but it was in the book. I did however make a chocolate ganache to put in the middle and a creamy chocolate frosting to frost it with. So I actually did three things out of the book. Heee!! The cake was easy to make the ganashe wasn't too hard but I messed up on the fosting. I was suppose to heat the heavy cream to 180 degrees, remove from heat and then add the chips and put it in a bowl of ice water and stir until cool. I forgot the first step I mixed the heavy cream and the chocolate all once so I had to modify.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Nothing

I am sorry to say that I did not make a dessert this week. So I will be making two next Sunday. That's right TWO. I will keep you posted as to what I decide to make.

Sorry.

German Chocolate Cake

Well it's been a while since I have been on. Sorry, life has been very busy.

So last Sunday I made the cake it was very good, the frosting was delicious the cake for my taste was a little on the dry side, but I was informed that most German chocolate cakes are. I put a little bit of cool whip and that did the trick. My guest that had the cake had no complaints, so I guess that's a good thing.

If you are looking for a quick dessert this is not it. It took a while to make, but I would make it again. So if you have the book I would suggest it, unless you don't like dryer cakes, then don't make it.

If you do make it let me know how it turns out and what you think. Don't forget this is just my point of view you may not like it, don't blame me. lol!!!

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Making the cake




Well I have one part of it done. Woohoo!!! I found the cake batter so strange. I'm not use to making cakes from scratch so I don't know if they all look like this one or if it's just because it's a German chocolate one. It almost looked like chocolate mousse It smells delicious and I had to take a small taste off the beater and it tasted wonderful. If you notice on one of the pictures I am folding. Yes, I did it, and no it wasn't that bad after all. Got all worked up for nothing. My cakes are currently cooling and then I will go ahead and make the frosting for it and frost them tonight and put it together so it will be ready to eat for tomorrow. Can't wait!

So far it has taken an hour and 41 min. with cooking time. So take 30min. out of that and that is how long it took me to get it together. Of course the second time around I will probably be faster but that's my time for now. If you have made one from scratch before (Not a box cake) you can tell me how long it took you to make yours I would love to know.

I think that's it for now.

Friday, April 9, 2010

In preperation

So I have read and read and read the directions on how to make my next dessert. I will be making a three layer German Chocolate Cake. It's extremly bad for you but the picture looks great!! I will have a picture when I am done with it. I have gone to the store and got everything I need to survive, I mean to make it.

Needless to say if I was not doing this experiment I would have turned the page already. Why you ask? Folding. Folding what you ask? Eggs. Just to make the cake mixture I have to beet 4 egg whites until stiff peaks form and then I have to fold a fourth of the mixturea and then the rest of the mixture. After it looks like it's all bleanded in I can then put it in my three pans and bake. :) Now I know for all you people who already know how to do this are thinking. What's the big deal? The BIG DEAL!! I have never done this before, THAT my friend is the big deal. I will conquer this folding if it's the last thing I do.

Now I am out of town and decided not to bring my entire cookbook with me so I just brought the page that I needed. Which of course if I would have brought the book it would have told me how to fold. No fear, that's what the internet is here for, to save the day. Although I am not as nervouse now I am wondering how long this cake will actually take me to make. I figure folding alone will take me 20min. (Slight exageration I know) I may just time it out of curiosity.

Anyway I will be making the cake tomorrow and putting it together to enjoy on Sunday. Yumm! I can not wait I am getting so excited!!!

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

I Scared

So, I finally got a chance to sit down and really take a look at what I have committed too and all I can say is "I'm scared." I will making ice cream, baklava, meringues and a few other things I have never attempted to do because the ingredients/directions intimidates me. :) I'm thinking I may have to recruit the help of my husband with some of these things. Still not sure what I am going to make next, but I'm sure I will find something by Sunday. Who knows it may be a combination of ice cream and something else. Either way I will let you know.

Monday, April 5, 2010

Have Mercy

So Jeff asks me "Did you throw the rest of that cake away?" I told him I did and he was not very happy about it. I told him I didn't think it was a big deal since he didn't really like it that much anyways. Then he asks "What is the next dessert you plan to make?" I show him the cookbook that I was going to use and he proceeds to tell me that out of 41 recipes he only saw 9 that he liked.

So if I am going to do this project he said I had to pick something that he liked. So I have had to change my book, not terrible happy about it, but dessert is dessert. Yumm!!

I am going to be using my Taste of Home cookbook and using two tabs the Cake tab and the dessert tab. I am still excited about it.

Jeff also thinks that I should blog about everything I make that is new. Not sure yet.

More

I finally watched the movie Julie and Julia and just to let you know. I will not be that creative with my writing. lol! My spelling and grammer suck, sorry. The main reason that I wanted to do this is because: I know you wanted to know if not your going to find out anyway unless you stop reading after this point.

I started a healthy life style change October 29, 2008. One of the things that I tried to stop doing is eat sweets. I didn't eat any for almost three months in the beginning and then after that it was on occasion then back to not eating any and so on.

I realized how much I really do like baking and how much I do miss eating what I bake. So I have decided to try something new. Well, alright new for me. Once a week I am going to bake a new dessert and I'm going to eat it. However, In order not to gain any weight that I have lost (40+/-) I need to eat supper good the whole week and exercise too. I know people say that you shouldn't reward yourself with food but if it works then I am OK with that if not well I guess I will let you know.

I am supper excited about this and I hope it works out for the good. I will let you know.

Chocolate-Cherry Cola Cake


Yesterday I made my first dessert. It was OK. The frosting was a little to sweet for my taste but Jacob loved it. Jeff's eyes bugged and said "wow, that is sweet"

The cake itself wasn't bad it was kind of crumbly and when I tried to spread the frosting on it, it picked up pretty bad instead of this beautiful top it was mixed with cake crumbs and frosting. I think I may have chopped the cherries a little too small I had a hard time finding them. Jacob found one and says "Mom does this cake have raisins in it?" I explained that they weren't raisins but cherries. "I love cherries mom" Daniel just ate it with no complaints just crumbs all over his face and hands.

I think I would make the cake again but I would use a different frosting not sure what to do about the crumbly top?